Cooking for the truly lazy*

9 Feb

Despite being a lover of good food, I myself don’t cook on a regular basis. However, I still have to eat, preferably somewhat healthily and within a reasonable budget. I love to read magazines like Real Simple and Sunset and ogle the beautifully photographed dishes, but the estimated preparation times printed on their recipes are never realistic for a person like me. First of all, I am incredibly knife-challenged. I tend to chop things into big pieces, saying that I’m going for a hearty rustic feel to my dishes (hah), because I really would take forever if I had to chop things any smaller. Second, when I come home from work I am really hungry and just want to eat, not spend an hour making my meal. Finally, although the recipes I see in magazines look delicious, many call for a large number of ingredients I don’t have. As a single person, it doesn’t make sense for me to buy all the ingredients to use only a few times before they go bad. I also don’t have much storage space, so the things I cook need to be simple and require simple tools.  I’ll be sharing with you the simple and quick meals that I make for myself, in case you’re facing some of the same challenges.

Last night I made eggplant parmesan.  In the microwave.  It actually came out pretty well, was also filling, and inspired this mini series.

Instructions for Microwave eggplant parmesan (5-10 min prep time)

1. Slice washed eggplant in 1 inch thick slices (cross section)
2. Spoon on some of your favorite tomato-based pasta sauce
3. Grate Parmesan cheese on top
4. Microwave in covered bowl for 3-4 minutes and serve

*energy efficient individuals

One Response to “Cooking for the truly lazy*”

  1. ryan c February 16, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    target audience: college students

Leave a Reply

